Merry Christmas To All

This Christmas season I’ve been really focusing on all the blessings in my life.  All too often, we can consume ourselves with nonsense that in the grand scheme of things don’t matter.  I just want to tell all of my family (blood or not) how much we love and appreciate you!  We’ve been blessed with friends that challenge us, nurture us and that love us no matter what the situation.  We’re very blessed to have family and family away from family!  ;o)

I keep wanting to share some thoughts that I’ve learned over the past two years.  Sooo here goes!

The best advice I can give newlyweds or any married person is to consume yourself with The Gospel.  Consume yourselves with the people of a church that love you for who you are and where you are.  There are sooo many comparisons with having children and being married with Christ and the church.

For one, I don’t think you can ever feel the amount of  desperation that the weight of parenthood brings upon you until you have them.  I don’t say this to be a downer but parenthood is NOT easy!  It’s a huge sacrifice to do somewhat of a good job, much less to be an ever present, awesome one!  Christ sacrificed his own son.  To me, that’s unimaginable and (God willing) I hope to never know what it’s like to lose one.  Have kids, you won’t regret it.  It WILL stretch and mold you as long as you look to God for the life lessons and not get completely overwhelmed in the daily chaos!

Secondly, marriage is hard.  Don’t be fooled by the pre-marital romance, beautiful ceremony and perfect honeymoon.  Those are all facades for what actually comes out when you are “stuck” with each other. ;o)  Love your spouse, and I mean really love them.  They are imperfect, as yourself.  You are not supposed to be perfect so don’t act like you are!  I love this quote from Gary Thomas, ” What if marriage is designed to make you holy more than to make us happy?”  The more you let Christ mold you within your marriage, the more you can be grateful for how far you’ve come!  Who wants to be the same person you were when you got married?  Not me!  I was selfish and definitely nowhere near what Christ intended for me to be.  It’s ok to grow and if you’re not growing, there’s something wrong with your relationship!

Last but not least!  Christ loved the church as his bride.  That means He REALLY loves the church!  He physically gave his life for it!  That means WE should REALLY love the church!   The older and “more mature” I get, I see all the comparisons Christ meant for me to see in these different relationships.  To serve (all people, not just your husband and family) in the church and outside is what is building me at this moment.  I firmly believe you will not see and feel the blessings God intended for you until you immerse yourself in serving.  And, serving with wanting NOTHING in return.  That is KEY!  This material and sinful world blocks so much of what Christ wants you to see because we are selfish, selfish human beings.

All of these comparisons and relationships are meant to teach a lesson.  That lesson for me is that we CANNOT do it without Christ!  We were never meant to walk alone in this life.  We are supposed to surround ourselves with like minded, Christ followers that lift up and call out when needed!  ;o)  We are not here on this earth to live life unscathed.  If we lived life that way, there would be no need for a savior!

My prayer for you this coming year is that you face what’s bothering you!  Don’t push feelings and hurts down because you don’t want to “deal” with the hurt they’ve caused.  I want you to feel because feeling is where Christ wants you to be.  He wants us to be healthy and present and perfect for His service!

I am so grateful for all the wonderful friends and family in my life!  I want to wish you all a wonderful Christmas!  I hope you enjoy our Christmas card!  If you personally received one in the mail, it may be different than this one!  I couldn’t make up my mind so I chose three different designs!  ;o)

Thank you for loving the Boggs family!  We love you more than you could imagine!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas To All

Leave a Reply

